Page d'accueil   Biographie   Compositions   Événements
 
 
Nigel Keay - Concerto pour alto (2000)
 
  En trois mouvements, durée : 24 minutes.
  1. Largo-Allegro (10'01")
  2. Larghissimo (7'06")
  3. Allegro (6'44")
     
Instrumentation: 2 flûtes, 2 hautbois (2ème - cor anglais), 2 clarinettes (2ème clarinette basse), 2 bassons (2ème contrebasson), 2 cors en F, timbales, & cordes.
 
 

Enregistré par Radio Nouvelle-Zélande . Orchestre de chambre dirigé par Marc Taddei avec Franck Chevalier comme soliste :

2ème mouvement joué par Nigel Keay & Jeffrey Grice. (version pour alto et piano). Enregistré par Nigel Keay avec des micros Sennheiser e914.

 
 
 
 
 

Création au 29ème Congrès International de l’Alto de Wellington le 12 avril 2001.

 
   
 
     
 

Concerto pour alto (Viola Concerto)

Le Concerto pour alto de Nigel Keay a été écrit entre 1999 et 2000. La partie solo est profondément influencée par la pratique instrumentale du compositeur, lui-même altiste, et s'est développée à partir d'un jeu entre improvisation et composition.

L'orchestration du concerto a été affectée par les circonstances qui ont entouré sa création. En effet, l'orchestre devait jouer également la sonate de Paganini pour grand alto et orchestre comprenant des cordes, un double quintette à vents et des timbales. L'orchestration du concerto a intégré cette facture 'classique' tout en prolongeant les registres les plus graves de l'orchestre avec des instruments tels que le contrebasson ou la clarinette basse.

Concerto pour alto est en trois mouvements et dure environ 24 minutes. Chaque mouvement se déploie à partir du précédent et la forme du concerto se libère au fur et à mesure du déroulement de l’œuvre. Le premier mouvement, le plus long, adopte la forme-sonate : l’entrée du soliste suit une courte introduction orchestrale de 12 mesures annonçant le thème principal. Le deuxième mouvement est fondé sur des variations ornementées à partir d’un thème principal donné par le soliste et ponctué par les rappels harmoniques de l’orchestre. Le troisième mouvement ne suit aucune forme particulière mais se développe librement résumant et liant les différentes idées harmoniques et mélodiques présentées dans les deux premiers mouvements.

Avec son premier mouvement en forme sonate et son langage harmonique néo-tonal, le Concerto semble ressortir d’une esthétique dite ‘néo-classique.’ Le compositeur avait songé à lui donner le titre ‘Viola Symphony’ en référence à ‘Cello Symphony’ de Britten pour souligner l’importance du matériau orchestral, qui est beaucoup plus qu’un simple accompagnement. L’idée d’un dialogue entre le soliste et les musiciens ou groupes d’instruments de l’orchestre est essentielle dans la construction de l’œuvre.

Selon cette conception, le soliste se présente comme l’animateur de l’ensemble plutôt que comme un virtuose faisant l’étalage des possibilités techniques de son instrument. Bien qu’à plusieurs occasions le soliste emploie des doubles cordes pour exposer le contrepoint et des harmoniques vers la fin du troisième mouvement, la partie solo se déploie en général sa mélodie sur presque quatre octaves et sa ligne s’entrelace dans la texture de l’orchestre.

Une réduction pour piano a été écrite pour permettre au soliste de se préparer. Le compositeur est infiniment reconnaissant envers le pianiste Jeffrey Grice qui l’a aidé à parfaire la réduction. Nigel Keay a composé Serenade pour cordes juste après ce concerto.

Viola Concerto - Flag of the UK

Home Page   Biography   Compositions   Events

 
Nigel Keay - Viola Concerto (2000)
 
  In three movements, duration: 24 minutes.
  1. Largo-Allegro (10'01")
  2. Larghissimo (7'06")
  3. Allegro (6'44
     
Instrumentation: 2 flutes, 2 oboes (second doubling cor anglais), 2 clarinets (second doubling bass clarinet), 2 bassoons (second doubling contrabassoon), 2 horns in F, timpani, & strings.
 
 

Nigel Keay's Viola Concerto was first performed in its full orchestral version at the 29th International Viola Congress in Wellington in 2001. Chamber orchestra conducted by Marc Taddei with Franck Chevalier as soloist: Recorded by Concert FM, a network of Radio New Zealand logo

2nd Movement played by Nigel Keay and Jeffrey Grice (version for viola and piano). Recorded by Nigel Keay using Sennheiser e914 microphones.

 
 
 
 
Nigel Keay's Viola Concerto was first performed in its full orchestral version at the 29th International Viola Congress in Wellington in 2001.
 
   
 
     
  From the first notes to the first performance.....

Nigel Keay's Viola Concerto was written between 1999 and 2000. The solo part is heavily influenced by the composer also being a violist (having studied the concerti by William Walton and Béla Bartók, and was developed through a process of composition/improvisation.

The circumstances of the first performance helped shape the orchestration of the Viola Concerto by limiting the orchestra available to those players that would be employed in another work in the same programme - the Paganini Sonata for Grand Viola and Orchestra, for strings, double wind quintet & timpani. Thus, the conception of the Viola Concerto had been somewhat « classical » with an extended lower register in the orchestra (instruments such as the contrabassoon, and bass-clarinet are employed).

The Viola Concerto is in three movements with a total duration of 24 minutes. Each movement grows progressively out of its predecessor with a tendency for the form to become freer as the work progresses. The first movement, being the longest movement at around 10 minutes duration, is based on sonata-form in which the soloist enters after a short 12-bar orchestral introduction containing the principal theme. The second movement is based on variation-form; the soloist immediately states the main melodic theme over a chordal accompaniment then proceeds with ornamented variations on the main theme. The third movement does not follow any specific form, but develops freely in tying together and summing up various harmonic and melodic ideas presented in the first two movements.

Following the classical aesthetics with its larger first movement in sonata-form makes the concerto somewhat “neo-classical”, in conjunction with its neo-tonal harmonic language. The title of “Viola Symphony” was considered for the Viola Concerto, perhaps after the idea behind Britten’s Cello Symphony, indicating the importance of the orchestral material, it being much more than a simple accompaniment. The idea of dialogue between the soloist and the various orchestral instrumentalists (or groups of instruments) is essential to the construction of the work.

The Viola Concerto follows the idea of presenting the soloist as master-musician/animator of, and in dialogue with their ensemble as opposed to having the soloist present a catalogue of technical possibilities on the instrument. Although there are several occasions where the soloist employs double stopping to play out a contrapuntal idea, and some harmonics towards the end of the third movement, the solo part in the main roves melodically over nearly four octaves of its range interweaving its line through the orchestral texture.

A piano reduction was produced for the soloist to rehearse with, and the composer is very grateful to the pianist Jeffrey Grice for his help in refining the piano reduction. The composition of Nigel Keay's Serenade for Strings rapidly followed the completion of this Concerto.

Concerto pour alto French flag