Home Page   Biography   Events   Contact

Page d'accueil   Cette page en français

Music by Nigel Keay – List of Works


Four Piano Pieces (1983) Duration: 8 minutes

Variations for Piano (1985) Duration: 10-11 minutes

Interlude for Piano (1988) Duration: 5 minutes

the dancer leads the procession (1999) Duration: 9 minutes

Little Tango Suite (2003/4). Duration: 4 minutes. Three short piano pieces.


Vocalise (1978) for Soprano, Vibraphone, Violin, Viola & Cello.

Variations for Violin & Piano (1982) Duration: 9 minutes.

String Quartet No.1 (1983) Duration: 13 minutes (audio of second movement only)

Quartet for Piano, Violin, Viola, Cello (1986). Duration: 16 minutes. ISBN 0 908569 41 6, 52 pages

Triptych (1988) Brass Trio in Three Movements for Trumpet in C, French Horn in F & Trombone. Duration: ca. 9 minutes.

Etude for Violin Solo Derivation 3 (1990)

Introduction & Allegro (1995) Sextet for Flute, Clarinet/B.Cl., Bass Trombone, Violin, Viola, Double Bass.

String Quartet No.2 (1995) In three movements. Duration ca. 17 minutes.

Variations on a theme from At the Hawk’s Well (2001) Trio for Violin, Cello & Piano Duration: 9 minutes. In one movement.

Tango Suite (2002) for contralto & string quintet (string quartet and double bass). Duration: 10 minutes. Commissioned by Radio France.

Diversions for Quintet (2003) Duration: 16 minutes. Instrumentation: Oboe, Clarinet, Violin, Viola & Double Bass.

Terrestrial Mirror for Flute, Viola & Harp (2004). In three movements. Duration ca. 16 minutes.

Duo for Violin and Viola (2008) In four movements. Duration ca. 10 minutes.

Adagietto Antique (2009) Trio for Clarinet in A, Viola and Piano. Duration ca 15 minutes.

Oboe Sonata (2011) In three movements. Duration ca. 13 minutes.

Double Jeu (2012) for two violas. In three movements. Duration ca. 7 minutes.

Allusions for Clarinet Solo (2013) Duration: 3' 19".

Prelude for Cello and Piano (2013) Duration ca. 7 minutes. Premiered 19 June 2014.

Introduction and Tarantella for Violin & Piano (2014). Premiered 25th April 2014.

Moderato à cent d'huîtres for Viola and Piano (2014). Duration: 3' 58". Commissioned by Sylvain Durantel for La Cuisine à l'alto.

Souffle coupé for Wind Quintet (2015) Quintet in three movements for flute, oboe, clarinet, horn & bassoon. Duration ca. 11 minutes.

Le Loup et l'Agneau (2017) for narrator and piano. Duration: 9' 23". Commissioned by Jérémie Honnoré for Musique à la Ferme, Lançon-Provence.

Nocturne, Havrincourt 1918 for baritone saxophone and double bass. (2017) Duration ca. 10 minutes.

Sitting in the Ruins - Trio for Two Oboes and Bassoon (2018). In two movements. Duration ca. 6'.

Labyrinthe - Duo for Flute and Viola (2018). In three short movements. Duration ca. 7 minutes.

Duo for Two Violins (2020); Two-Step Distance. In five movements, duration ca. 10'35".

Miniatures for Violin & Piano Duo (2021). Eight pieces with a duration ca. 10' 30" minutes.

Miniatures for Cello & Piano (2021). Seven pieces with a duration ca. 9' 05".

Divertimento for Wind Quintet (2022). Four movements with a duration of ca. 7 minutes

Pacific Diptych (2023) for Piano Quintet. In two movements, duration, ca. 15 minutes.

Voices of the Air for mezzo-soprano and piano (2023). A setting of the poem by Katherine Mansfield. Duration; ca. 6 minutes

Larghissimo for Viola and Piano (from Viola Concerto 2000)

The Swallows for mezzo-soprano and piano (2024). A setting of the poem by Dunstan Ward. Duration; ca. 2' 30".



tectonics (2016) for organ (original version). Version phonostück (commissioned by Daniel Kientzy) for archi-saxophone solo and ensemble (mellotron, viola and double bass). Duration: ca. 7 minutes.

Maungarei (2019) for Saxophones (sopranino, soprano & alto), Ondes Martenot, Farfisa Organ and Basses (Precision, Folk & Double Bass) for Daniel Kientzy. Duration: 7 minutes 33".


Symphony for Strings: Three Images of Java (1989). Duration: 15 minutes (2. Adagio for Strings). (Audio of Adagio for Strings)

Serenade for Strings (2002) Duration: 17 minutes. In four movements.

Pacific Diptych for string orchestra (2019). Duration: ca. 14" 30". In two movements.


Festival Fanfare (1979) for brass instruments. Duration 0'45". Performed by members of Christchurch Venetian Brass Ensemble on Sunday 6th May 1979, 12.30pm, to open the bi-annual Student's Arts Festival at the University of Canterbury.

Movement for Orchestra (1985)  Duration: 11 minutes 2fl, ob, 2cl, bn, 2hn, tpt, trbn, harp, strings.

Diffractions for Piano & Chamber Orchestra (1987) Duration: 10 minutes. ISBN 0 908693 76 1, 44 pages Pno, fl, ob, cl, bn, hn, tpt, trbn, tam2, strings 4,4,3,2,1. In one movement.

Symphonic Poem: Ritual Dance... (1993) (2222, 4231, Perc, Timp, Piano & Strings) Duration: 22 minutes.

Fanfare for Orchestra (1995) Duration: 3 minutes (2222*, 4231, Timpani, Percussion, Strings)

Symphony in Five Movements (1996) Duration: 24 minutes (3*2*2*2*, 4231, Timpani, 3 Percussion, Harp, Strings).

Viola Concerto (2000) Duration: 24 minutes. (22*2*2*, 2000, Timpani, & Strings) In three Movements.

Diversions for Chamber Orchestra (2003) Duration: 15 minutes. (Version for: Flute, Oboe, Clarinet, Bassoon, Horn & Strings). In three movements.


At the Hawk's Well (1992) One-Act Opera, duration 52 minutes. An operatic setting of the play by W. B. Yeats with 5 soloists, orchestra. (Flute, Alto Flute, Clarinet, Bass Clarinet, Bassoon, Horn, Trumpet, Trombone, Piano, Percussion & Strings (including electric-violin solo), women's chorus, dancer, and Indonesian Gamelan instruments to augment the orchestral percussion section).


Archive of Nigel Keay's Catalogue(Earlier PDF Scores & parts from Composer's Mosaic and Sibelius file format)

Arrangements by Nigel Keay

All rights reserved for all works reproduced and communicated on this site.

The music on this site is protected by SACEM, the French Performing Rights Society. The PDF scores and parts may be reproduced free-of-charge for the purposes of individual consultation. These materials may be used for performance on the condition that any public performance or broadcast is declared to the affiliated performing rights society in your own country.